In Arizona, a driver who hits and kills a cyclist faces a $1,000 fine.
It's the same in South Carolina. In Louisiana, it's $250. Those states along with 17 others have safe passing laws.
The Lone Star State does not and has no set penalty. Now that three people, including a San Antonio couple, were struck and killed within a week of each other while bicycling legally, cyclists again are asking what can be done so all road users can travel safely. Scores of cyclists and pedestrians are killed every year in Texas on the roads and few drivers are prosecuted.